This discussion is archived
1 Reply Latest reply: Nov 7, 2009 9:44 AM by Lubiez Jean-Valentin RSS

MaxExtents

725629 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
I am a novice DBA, we use Oracle 9i version-we use locally managed tablespace with db_block_size=8192. I would appreciate if anyone can throw some insight in to this one. We have automatic alerts setup in our environment; I have received the following alerts recently
‘When the largest objects (or any object with uniform extent sizes) have allocated 10 extents, the tablespace: ‘My_TableSpace’ will be out of space. You should probably increase the size of the tablespace.’

And again after 10 minutes I received the following error:
‘When the largest objects (or any object with uniform extent sizes) have allocated 9 extents’ The number of extents kept decreasing, hence I had to increase the table space by running the following command

alter tablespace ‘My_TableSpace’ add datafile 'C:\MyDB\My_DATA02.dbf' size 1024m autoextend on
This worked and I stopped receiving the errors, but my question is I looked at the tablespace it has only consumed 1020 MB, still 4 MB was left. so theoretically It should increase by next 512 MB once the remaining 4 MB is consumed until it reaches the maximum of 32 GB limit, is that correct? If so why did I receive only 9 extents still available? Won’t they get increase automatically upto MaxExtents as mentioned below.
Tablespace     FileType     Status     FileStatus     UsedMB     FreeMB     InitialExt     MinExtents     MaxExtents
My_TableSpace     Datafile     ONLINE     AVAILABLE     1020     4     524288     1     2147483645

FileName
C:\MyDB\My_DATA01.dbf

Block Sz Max Datafile Sz (Gb) Max DB Sz (Tb)

2,048 8 512
4,096 16 1,024
8,192 32 2,048

Create tablespace ‘My_TableSpace’ add datafile 'C:\MyDB\My_DATA01.dbf' size 1024m autoextend on next 512m maxsize UNLIMITED