5 Replies Latest reply on Mar 21, 2011 2:15 PM by 849046

VNCSERVER on OEL5 in Amazons Cloud

Greetings -
      I have successfully deployed an OEL 5 image with Oracle 11.1.0.7 (32-bit) in AWS.

I can ssh via putty (with my putty gen converted key) successfully. I did have to set up port forward on 5901 in putty, and successfully access roots desktop.

My question is: what steps can I take to access oracle's desktop ? Do I have to generate a pem for oracle, convert a copy via puttygen ?

If I switch user to oracle in putty, and launch vncviewer, I get roots desktop? There is only a logout option, not logout and login as another user.

Bottom line is, how can I access the graphical tools like dbca, installer, etc as they can't (and or shouldn't) be run as root?

Thanks
      The Nets Edge
      -warning - I am a DBA not a linux admin, so please try and translate into DBA speak. :-) thanks
        • 1. Re: VNCSERVER on OEL5 in Amazons Cloud
          Herbert van den Bergh-Oracle
          I'm not familiar with EC2, but there are many ways you can achieve what you need. You can login to your remote server as oracle, and start another vncserver. This will get the next available port number (most likely ip port 5902, vnc port :2), so you'll need to setup a second ssh tunnel to connect to it via your putty connection.

Or you can cp /root/.Xauthority to /home/oracle/.Xauthority, and chown oracle /home/oracle/.Xauthority, so oracle user is allowed to connect to the root user display. Also remember to set DISPLAY=:1 in oracle's environment.

Or as root, run xhost +, which allows anyone anywhere to connect to root's X display (not terribly secure).

Or as root, ssh -X oracle@localhost, and oracle's X connections will be tunneled via a local ssh connection to the root X display.

Want more options? ;-)
          • 2. Re: VNCSERVER on OEL5 in Amazons Cloud
            Herb -