1 2 Previous Next 16 Replies Latest reply: Nov 15, 2009 1:39 PM by 661723 RSS

serial# and SID

hi!!!

I am a DBA funa-1 9i WDP student.I need some help:

(If i am not wrong)v$session is dynamic view which store some information about oracle.but my question is why serial# and SID is required to kill the session??why not just only SID to kill the session??

another thing is that a user can use multiple session(as oracle does not restrict to do so).we observed there is a unique-ness for Serial# then why do we need to mention SID to kill the session?
      And my final question is, how the SID and Serial# is generated?
        • 1. Re: serial# and SID
          Pavan Kumar
          Hi,

You are correct V$session and there is chance that, if you close one particular session and some open new session, then worst case same session might be allocated for next coming session based on the allocation. So, in order to find the object relavent to Session , looking into case of above statement which I said, we need "Session serial number" to identify a session's objects Distinctly or Uniquely.

So combination of Session ID and Serial I will give you or provide unqiue records or Obejcts.

I think i have answered your 2 questions. come to SID and Serial Generation it based on the Client connecting to DB and type of Service connected to Dedicted or Shared - AFAIK.

- Pavan Kumar N
          • 2. Re: serial# and SID
            hi!!!

if i am not wrong, a killing session may require to take cold backup from db(may not be the only case although).but the using it i can restrict user to interact with the db or may be to a particular tablespace.and i can take a cold/hot backup.As Serial# is unique why we need session id to kill the session??

can you explain a bit more(if possible with example)??

can you show a scenario where serial# is the same but not SID??
            • 3. Re: serial# and SID
              Anand...
              Hi..