4 Replies Latest reply on Dec 3, 2009 6:41 AM by S.PDASH

Role of Buyers

user11303545
      Hi,

I am new to Purchasing module and would like to know more about the role of buyer. Do buyer have anything to do with creating a requisition and is buyer setup required if i do only PO Approval and Requisition Approval ?

Thanks,
      Shilpa
        • 1. Re: Role of Buyers
          S.PDASH
          Hi,

Your question 1 : What's the role of a Buyer
          Ans : In simple, The buyer is the bridge between the corporation and the supply base. When built on a strong foundation it delivers value added services to both parties. The corporation must recognize the fundamental and important role of the buyer in delivering goods and services that are in line with corporate objectives.

Basically a buyer is an employee of an organization..

Your question 2 : Do buyer have anything to do with creating a requisition ?
          Ans : No... Any employee can create a requisition which is used for internal purpose only... and the person need not to be a buyer (may be a person belongs to your say Admin Dept putting requsition for office Printer paper)..

Your question 3 : Do buyer setup required if i do only PO Approval and Requisition Approval ?
          Ans : You don't need any buyer setup for requisition Approval or for other requisition activities where as you need to define yourself as a Buyer for creating a PO or approving a PO. You even can't open PO form if you are not set as a Buyer. To access PO form you need to be a buyer.. This is a prerequisite.

Hope above explanation will help.

Regards, :)
          S.P DASH
          • 2. Re: Role of Buyers
            user11303545
            Thanks Much. It was indeed very helpful.

I have one more setup challenge regarding Requisition Approval which we are setting up using Supervisor Hierarchy.